June 6, 2011 (Birds Nest Hut #3 to Stealth Site) Daily Miles: 24.5 – Total Miles: 954.7

We got up pretty early and got our stuff all packed up by about 6:30am. Since Shenendoah National Park is a pretty level section of the trail, many thru-hikers can have days of well over 20 miles. After looking at the trail guides, we decided to shoot for a 24-27 mile day. As we began our day, the cool morning warmed up and the hiking was pleasant. We covered 12 miles by 11:00am. Right as we were starting to get hungry, a wayside appeared through the trees. Waysides are little camp stores, with a small selection of hot food. I had fried chicken and a pile of french fries. After my lunch, I figured it would be a good idea to chug a rockstar energy drink to top of all that fried food. By the time we got back on the trail, we were all so amped up on sugar, that we decided to see if we could run up the next hill. That was a bad idea. By the time I reached the top of the hill both of my shins were throbbing. I stretched and kept hiking, but both of my legs bothered me for the entire day. The trail rolled up and over some hills, through thick forests and crossed a number of park roads. The heat picked up in the late afternoon. I took an extended break in a shady spot to massage both of my calves and do a bunch of stretching. After my the long break, I was exhausted, so I decided to go into “do-rag mode” to give me the power to finish the day. Do-rag mode doesn’t really mean anything, but it made for a funny picture.

S7300345

Do-rag mode, engage!

We were still hiking when evening rolled in, but I was going slowly and my legs started feel a little better. The sun began to set as we walked into an eerie, burned out section of forest. Apparently there had either been a forest fire or a controlled burn in that area, but it was strange and awesome.

We were all exhausted by the time we reached Compton Springs. Seeing a spring bubbling in the middle of a charred forest was an odd sight. We continued to the top of compton peak to set up camp. Compton peak was only at an elevation of 2,990 feet, so it was actually more of a hill. We found a flat camp spot among some tall oaks about 50 yards or so off the trail. We all filled walked back to the spring and filled up our water bottles. With our tents set up, we sat on the ground and cooked our dinners. I had a couple of roast chicken flavored ramens with a dash of cayenne pepper. The evening cooled off after dinner and I made a small fire. The plan for the next day was to hike 7 miles to US 522 and try to hitch a ride into Front Royal. In town we would resupply and take a Nero at a cheap motel. I was never really an advocate for time off the trail, but my legs needed a rest and I required  a shower.

S7300347

Seth, hiking through the burned out section of trail near the North end of Shenandoah National Park.

Since that part of the trail was notorius for lyme disease carrying ticks, we did a thorough inspenction of ourselves and each other before we went to bed. As the darkness crept up, I climbed into my tent. The evening was cool and it felt amazing to lie down after such a long day of hiking. We had gone 24 miles, and knowing we were going to be in town for real food and showers made it even more satisfying.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment